Yellow font on Black background Black font on White background Black font on Cream background
Call us today 01621 857841 or Email us
Quality Matters Logo

"Quality Matters in your Business"

Monday, 27 July 2015

ISO 50001:2011 Energy Management Standard

Published on 15 June 2011, the ISO 50001 Energy Management System (EnMS) standard is a globally accepted framework for managing energy, providing technical and management strategies for enterprises to increase energy efficiency, reduce costs, and improve environmental performance.
The Standard is useful to any organisation but will help large organisations comply with the ESOS (Energy Saving Opportunity Scheme) mandatory requirements.

The Environmental Agency, as Scheme Administrator for England, The Scottish Environmental Agency, Natural Resources Wales and the Northern Ireland Environmental Agency hold registers of all participants complying with the requirements.

All non SME organisations, those with 250+ employees or a turnover of €50m and a balance sheet exceeding €43m, must comply with ESOS.  Publicly funded organisations are exempt.

Those failing to comply with this requirement by December 2015 face penalties up to £50, 000 for each non conformity plus other non-monetary penalties.

The areas of non-conformity include:

  • Failure to notify the Scheme Administrator of compliance by the required date;
  • And/or failure to provide basic details as part of notification;
  • Failure to maintain adequate records to demonstrate compliance with ESOS;
  • Failure to undertake an ESOS Assessment;
  • Failure to comply with an enforcement, compliance or penalty notice;
  • Making a statement which is false or misleading.

ISO5001 has the following elements and adopts the P-D-C-A (plan-do-check-act) principle:

  • General Requirements
  • Management Responsibility
  • Energy Policy
  • Energy Planning
    • Legal and other requirements
    • Energy review, baseline and performance indicators
    • Energy objectives, targets and action plans
  • Implementation and Operation
    • Competence , training and awareness
    • Communication
    • Documentation
    • Operational controls
    • Design
    • Procurement of energy services, products and energy
  • Checking
    • Monitoring, measurement and analysis
    • Evaluation of compliance with legal and other requirements
    • Internal audit
    • Non-conformities, corrective and preventive actions
    • Control of records
  • Management Review
  • Improvement on Energy Performance

Only UKAS Accredited Certification Bodies may certify ISO 50001 systems for evidence of ESOS compliance.

Monday, 13 July 2015

ISO 14001 and ISO 9001 make it to Final Draft

Both Standards have now been issued as Final Drafts:

FDIS 14001  Environmental Management Systems  - Requirements with guidance for use
Issued on 2 July 2015

FDIS 9001 Quality Management Systems- Requirements
Issued 9 July 2015.

We are told that the only changes that will be made are editorial or corrections but the main elements will be unchanged.

Actual publication of the Standards is still expected in September but training and preparation can be made using these Final Drafts.  Final Systems should wait until actual publication.

The Standards both follow the annex SL format with 10 sections that will allow for direct comparison and integration.

  1. Scope
  2. Normative References
  3. Terms and Definitions
  4. Context of the organisation
  5. Leadership
  6. Planning
  7. Support
  8. Operation
  9. Performance Evaluation
  10. Improvement.

Naturally the sub sections for each standard are specific to the Quality / Environmental system.

Copies of the Standards are available from BSI Standards and ISO.

Quality Matters

P.O.Box 5479

T: 01621 857841
F: 01621 856016
M: 07702 193788

© 2015 Quality Matters Ltd. All rights reserved. Responsive Design